The logo of the Melammu Project

The Melammu Project

The Heritage of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East

   General description
   Name and logo
   Minutes of Meetings
   Earlier Symposia
   MS 7: Obergurgl, 2013
   MS 8: Kiel, 2014
   MS 9: Helsinki/Tartu, 2015
   MS 10: Kassel, 2016
   MS 11: Beirut, 2017
   Future Symposia
   MW 1: Lille, 2016
   MW 2: Innsbruck, 2016
   MW 3: Barcelona, 2017
   Introduction to MS1
   Melammu Manual (1999)
   Association (2001-2013)
  Contact us

  The Newsletter
  To Resources >


The Melammu Project

The Heritage of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East

The Melammu Project board consists of scholars from a wide variety of disciplines related to the project's focus. The main function of the board members is to promote the project and its meetings in the academic community and to safeguard the continuity of the project. For that reason, although the exact board size can vary, the board always consists of equally sized groups of senior and junior scholars (loosely defined). These include the organizers of the next two meetings (if known), as well as scholars involved in the database. The board is always elected for two years at one of the Melammu Symposia; the last election took place in 2015, at Melammu Symposia 9 in Helsinki/Tartu.

Current Board (2015-2017)

Stéphanie Anthonioz
University of Lille – 
Ennio Bondi
University of Franche-Comté – 
Rocío Da Riva
University of Barcelona – 
Elena Devecchi
University of Turin – 
Erik van Dongen (Vice-Chairman)

Kerstin Droß-Krüpe
University of Kassel – 
Sebastian Fink
University of Innsbruck – 
Ann C. Gunter
Northwestern University – 
Johannes Haubold
Durham University – 
Martin Lang
University of Innsbruck – 
Raija Mattila
Finnish Institute in the Middle East – 
Krzysztof Nawotka
University of Wrocław – 
Simonetta Ponchia
University of Verona – 
Beate Pongratz-Leisten
New York University – 
Robert Rollinger (Chairman)
University of Helsinki/University of Innsbruck – 
Kai Ruffing
University of Kassel – 
Aleksandra Szalc
University of Wrocław – 

Advisory Board

Tzvi Abusch
Brandeis University – 
Giovanni-Battista Lanfranchi
University of Padua – 
Simo Parpola
University of Helsinki
Kurt Raaflaub
Brown University – 
Josef Wiesehöfer
University of Kiel –